Aside

Never Lose Hope

Have you ever been in a place where it just seemed like your prayers were not being answered?  I know I have.  We seem to pray  one request for months or  years and breakthrough is not in site.  It just doesn’t seem like God is listening.  Discouragement begins to show its ugly face and we begin to doubt God’s goodness.  We even begin to think that God does not care about us anymore.  If He did care, something would be changing.  I am here to tell you that God does care. He cares more than you could ever imagine!

I am reminded of a boat ride my family took when we were pastoring in Crisfield, Maryland.  I don’t think I have ever been more frightened or more sick in all my life!  We had to travel to a funeral on Smith Island which is a thirty minute boat ride.  Needless to say, I was waiting for God to calm the storm.  The boat was rocking back and forth, and the waves were crashing over our heads.  Terror seized my inner being.  But I noticed that  the other passangers on the boat did not seem to be frightened.  When my husband asked them why they were not afraid, they answered with a very profound statement:  The captain is in control. He is still laughing and talking so we know we are safe.

Hmmmm…the captain is in control of the vessel.  Do you see where I am going with this?  God is the Captain of our vessel and I can assure you that He is not worried one bit about what we are going through.  We need to keep our eyes fixed on Jesus so fear and worry, and lost hope does not seep into our vessel.  Look to the ultimate Captain and let His peace fill your heart.

Psalm 34:4 states this:

I sought the Lord, and He heard me, and delivered me from all my fears.

This is very reassuring.  When we call out to God, He hears us and delivers us from all our troubles.  Sometimes the answers may not come in a way we expected them to come, but our prayers are always answered.

Psalm 34:19 says:

“A righteous man may have many troubles, but the Lord delivers him from them all.”

I will end by sharing something I had written in my prayer journal.  I wrote:

Put your hope in God’s goodness and EXPECT Him to move in your situation.  Be brave and of good courage; let your heart be stout and enduring.  Wait for, hope for, and expect the Lord to work in the land of the living!!!

If you need someone to talk to or someone to pray with you, please send me an e-mail.  I want to be here for you and help you through your pain.

Leave a Reply

