Strength For The Weary Soul

I have to admit, I am feeling very weary today.  My youngest son has been sick with the flu and strep for two weeks.  We thought he was getting better, but he came home again from school sick and tired.  I took him back to the doctors office where more tests were being run, and now we are just waiting for the results.

Waiting……it’s something God asks us to do so many times, and yet something I am horrible at doing.  It seems like the longer I wait, the more anxious I become.  My mind begins to think up the worse case scenario possible for every situation.  Even now, I am thinking about some of the things I have been asked to wait for and I have to admit, I think I have failed God in the waiting process.  Psalm 37:7 says:

“Rest in the Lord, and wait patiently for Him.”

I look at this verse wonder how do you find rest when everything around you looks so uncertain?  Is the answer in having complete trust in the Lord and knowing that He will take care of you no matter what?  I don’t know about you, but I tend to be the type of person who doesn’t handle uncertainty very well.  I like stability and I like to have a certain level of control in my circumstances.  (which of course is wrong)  When things tend to get out of my control, anxiety and fear increases and I usually end up crying to my husband and crying out to God.  Many times, I feel like I come to a complete place of brokenness.  How many times could I have spared myself all of this drama by just giving everything to God and resting in Him?  Would things have turned out differently?  Do I still continue to go around this same mountain because I have a very hard time letting go and God is trying to teach me that my peace is only through Him?

Webster’s Dictionary defines rest as:  a state or period of inactivity, relaxation, or sleep.  To lie down.  To be at peace or ease.  To depend; rely.

Looking at this definition really brings this verse into a different light for me.  God doesn’t want us to be all worried and anxious about what tomorrow holds.  He wants us to rest and be confident in Him knowing that He will work everything out for our good.

I think about a game we played when I was younger.  I’m sure most of you have played the same game.  We would have someone stand in front of us and we would tell that person to fall back.  The person falling had to make a quick decision:  am I going to trust my friends enough to catch me, or am I going to forget it and let someone else play?  Most of the time, we would trust our friends to catch us.  If we can place this much trust in our earthly friends, why do we find it difficult to place trust in our Heavenly Father?  After all, He is the One who created us.  He knows our every weakness, our every pain, the reason behind every tear we cry, and yet we have a hard time trusting and resting in Him.

Isaiah 40:31 says:

“But those who wait on the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles, They shall run and not be weary, They shall walk and not faint.”

Maybe the whole reason that God wants us to wait and rest in Him is because it is the only way our strength is renewed.  He knows how we were created, and He also knows that He did not create our bodies to hold on to stress the way we do.  How many physical problems could I avoid by just learning to rest in God?

Matthew 11:28-30 says:

“Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.”

Jesus is the answer for everything we are going through.  We are to come and take His yoke and find rest in Him.  When we try to control our circumstances, we labor in vain.  We begin to to struggle with the heavy weight we have just placed on ourselves because we have failed to rest in Jesus.  A person who labors is struggling, and one with a heavy burden is overloaded.  Jesus is telling us to come to Him, find rest in Him.  He wants to take our burdens and struggles from us and give us peace.  But the only way for us to receive His peace is to stop trying to control our own circumstances.   We need to learn to fully rely on Him and place our complete trust in Him.

4 thoughts on “Strength For The Weary Soul

Leave a Reply

